Sometimes you shouldn’t go home

For day 17 of #blogjune, going home…

I think it was our second day in Wales when we decided to drive from Portmeirion north through the mountains to visit Colwyn Bay, the town I was born in.

We migrated to Australia when I was just a few months old (which is why, I regret to say, I don’t have a Welsh accent) but we went back for a family holiday when I was aged seven and I still have strong memories of riding on double decker buses on the narrow roads, playing in the penny arcade , and buying Galaxy chocolate bars at the Woolworths store in town.

Sadly the town today is quite, well, sad. A motorway has been ploughed through cutting off the town from the coastline – we tried to walk to the beach to find the pier and gave up. The town itself is lively enough, but a bit forlorn compared with its neighbour Llandudno just up the coast. In need of a toilet, we ended up in a depressing shopping centre full of bargain shops. My souvenir of Colwyn Bay was a packet of zip bags from Pound Stretcher – to be fair, they were actually quite good zip bags.

I was looking through my photos when I got home and wondered what this was, and then realised it’s the only picture I took of the town where I was born – the street sign from where we parked the car in case we got lost.

20160413_102615.jpg

 

4 responses to “Sometimes you shouldn’t go home

  1. strawberriesofintegrity

    😦
    Sometimes you have to go to know…. Xx

  2. Wayne Davidson

    And we were served by “Shaz” at Pound Stretcher. So that was something.

Leave a Reply

