Snowflake crochet-along

Day 6 of #blogjune – in which I learn a new skill

I learned to knit in May 2009 so I’ve been knitting for 5 years now, but I’m only just learning how to crochet. I did manage a plain single crochet wash cloth last year as my very first crochet attempt. It wasn’t too bad, and it even had a jaunty green stripe! The pattern was from Erika Knight’s Crochet workshop.

washcloth

After completing the Merry Knit-along last year, which I joined to learn stranded colourwork knitting, I decided to sign up for a new challenge this year, the Snowflake Crochet-along.

The MerryKAL was co-hosted by Martine from iMake and Sarah from KnittingSarah. In 2014 Sarah started her “Socks with Sarah” knitalong while Martine started the SnowflakeCAL. I did knit one pair of socks for Sarah’s knitalong, and I plan to knit at least one more pair through the year, but I’ve decided to concentrate on improving my crochet skills this year (I’m sure Sarah won’t mind).

The idea is to crochet two or three snowflakes every month from Caitlin Sainio’s 100 Snowflakes to crochet. The snowflakes in the book are designed for fine gauge cotton, and I did attempt one at the beginning, but I found it terribly difficult and frustrating so I switched instead to a larger gauge and a more forgiving tweedy wool blend yarn, Rowan Felted Tweed DK.

aaaaa

I really like how these turned out and it gave me an idea about reknitting the Christmas balls from last year’s Merry Knit-along – more about that in another blog post!

I find something-alongs are great for learning new things and the yarn and crochet communities have lots of them. There’s a great feeling of community and camaraderie, there’s always someone to ask for help when you get stuck, and motivation for when you’re feeling frustrated or ready to just chuck the whole thing in the rubbish bin. I know that some people feel pressured by joining a something-along, but I find it more motivational and encouraging.

It’s never too late so if you would like to join the SnowflakeCAL see the Ravelry page here (and don’t forget to say hello).

PS: If you missed the Merry knit-along last year, here’s my post from #blogjune 2013!

 

Leave a Reply

