QF7

I’ll be away for a couple of weeks as I’m heading over to the Charleston library conference tomorrow, which is very exciting if a little nerve-wracking because I’m going to be co-presenting a paper about ebooks in Australian libraries. We’re being sponsored by EBL/ProQuest Ebooks who tell us that we need to share with our North American colleagues what we’re doing.

As a treat to myself legitimate work requirement I bought a Galaxy Note 8 inch tablet and I’ve loaded my PowerPoint so I’ll be able to practise during the five hour layover in DFW Airport.

ppt

The flight is going to be an endurance test. Although I leave at lunch time on Monday and arrive in the late evening on Monday it’s over 28 hours travelling all up. Better load up some ebooks too. Michelle and I will meet up in Sydney and then we fly across the Pacific to Dallas-Fort Worth on QF7 which I have just read is the longest Qantas flight sector and the longest 747 flight of any airline in the world! Then we just have one more flight to get us to Charleston before we can fall asleep/pass out.

We were originally booked into one of the regular conference hotels but ProQuest pulled some strings and have now got us booked us into a beautiful hotel in the historic downtown, the Jasmine House Inn, a Greek Revival mansion in the Ansonborough  part of town. Thankfully we have a free day on Tuesday for some gentle strolling and strong coffee.

Sadly it appears that the yarn store in downtown Charleston has closed down but that’s ok, because I’m having a New York City shopping stopover on the way home and I have my New York yarn crawl all worked out!

11 responses to “QF7

  1. Have a good trip, Tony, and I hope you like Charleston.

    • Thanks Jeffery! We had hoped to be able to work in a SFO side trip and I could meet up with Wayne but it all got a bit complicated…

  2. Best of luck on your presentation and enjoy your time in America! I am super jealous of the impending NYC yarn crawl – I’m sure it’ll be a perfect reward!

  3. Good luck on your presentation, and hope you enjoy the conference! This is a nice time of year to visit the U.S. South. Travel safely.

  4. Happy travelling! Will be watching from my armchair 🙂

    Xx

  5. You’re probably in Texas right now as I’m commenting on this! Please don’t judge The Lone Star State by what you can see out the windows of the DFW airport! Have fun in SC!

    • The view out the window of DFW is a bit gloomy isn’t it? I noticed on the flight map we passed close by Austin *waves* Now waiting for flight to Charleston, taking advantage of Starbucks free wifi!

Leave a Reply

