Travels with Alma

qantas

It was a grey and rainy start to my trip around Australia last week but the weather improved with each city we visited, it was almost warm by the time we got to Brisbane!

I was travelling with the Ex Libris team to speak about our library’s implementation of the new Alma library system, having been the first library to go live with Alma in Asia-Pacific. The first session was in Melbourne and I talked a bit too long so I went straight home for some quick edits to my slides before we embarked on the roadshow the next day.

wpid-2013-07-28-10.54.08.jpgIn Sydney I got to while away a pleasant couple of hours at my favourite bookshop, Kinokuniya, and with perfect timing since they were having a 20% off sale on all their craft books. The next morning we travelled out to UNSW for the Sydney session before leaving on the long flight to Perth.

Qantas had the new Jonathan Creek episode on the in-flight entertainment so I got to watch The Clue of the Savant’s Thumb starring the wonderful Joanna Lumley. Brilliant! Lucky we got dinner on the plane because we all just fell into bed when we finally got to our hotel in Perth.

wpid-2013-07-28-11.22.33.jpg

The Perth session was at the University of Western Australia. I’d never visited before and we only got a glimpse of the campus, but it was a lovely drive along the riverfront in winter sunshine. The Perth session was great fun, and I caught up with several of my Perth Twitter peeps including Con and got to meet her husband Michael. We’d hoped to be able to have dinner or even a sleepover so I could meet the doggies but with such a rushed schedule  we had to make do with a chat over coffee (although I’m not even sure that we managed that).

I think this is the first time people have live tweeted one of my talks!

At least we had time for a proper lunch in Perth and walked across to Northbridge where I was introduced to Shakshuka, a Mediterranean dish of baked eggs in a spicy pepper stew. I chose the vegetarian version but Barbara, who was from the Israel office, told me that Shakshuka is traditionally vegetarian anyway so I don’t know what they were doing putting meat in the “regular” version.

wpid-2013-07-28-11.24.43.jpg

We were in Perth less than 24 hours before we had to fly back across the country to Brisbane, arriving late at night before the final session of the roadshow at the State Library of Queensland the next day and then, after one more long flight back to Melbourne, home at last!

4 responses to “Travels with Alma

  1. I’m exhausted just reading about this. Good to squeeze some fun in with the work!

  2. Goodness, someone live tweeting your talk must have been a buzz!! And so is a 20% sale at kinokuniya- well worth travelling around Australia for 😉

  3. We had a blast visiting the Kinokuniya in New York City once – it totally doesn’t matter if one doesn’t read Japanese, does it?

  4. What a punishing schedule but it sounds like you managed to squeeze in some enjoyment here and there. Cheers

Leave a Reply

