One of the world’s most sophisticated nightspots

Day 5 of #blogjune

An advertisement from an old magazine reveals my nom de blog

bonitoclubOne of the world’s most sophisticated nightspots. The Bonito Club in the superliner ‘Canberra’.

I blogged about this in the first #blogjune back in 2010. Looks lovely doesn’t it?

7 responses to “One of the world’s most sophisticated nightspots

  1. Oh my, I’d always assumed Bonito Club came from your liking of things Japanese! I wonder what on earth possessed the ships owners to name a nightclub after a dried fish?

  2. Aah! I had often wondered too! Great picture!

  3. NOW I know. I’d been meaning to ask. Such a great story — I can’t imagine having such a wonderful experience at that age.

    • Steven, I’m very happy to officially introduce you to the long gone Bonito Club! It was a great experience. One day all the kids were taken up to the bridge and there’s a photo of me somewhere wearing a sailor’s hat and steering the ship’s wheel. Must find it!

  4. Pingback: old photos | Bonito Club

Leave a Reply

