crochet!

I got out a couple of books yesterday and that ball of orange cotton yarn that I bought on sale ages ago and settled down to teach myself crochet. It took a while to understand what I was supposed to be doing and I had to cross check several times between the books which sometimes told me to do different things — I don’t think there is ever one book that tells you everything you need to know, which is why it’s ok to buy lots of craft books.

Anyway… I was finally sort of getting the hang of it, although my little swatch was quite ropey really and I kept adding and losing stitches at the edges, but I was quite chuffed that at least the middle was actually looking pretty ok! I put a picture up on Instagram and several people took the time to offer encouraging words. Thank you!

Last night I decided to start a second swatch and this one turned out much better. The movements with yarn and hook are starting to feel more natural too, although it is probably not a good idea to learn crochet while live tweeting a Eurovision semi final, and I did add an extra stitch at one point so I just removed it when I noticed it a row or two later.

crochet

Second attempt!

The yarn is quite soft so I might use this for cleaning my glasses.

The green yarn has arrived for the second of my Christmas balls for May in the Merry Knitalong, so I made sure to finish off the first one. It’s the second version of the Xs and Os design from Arne and Carlos’s 55 Christmas balls to knit, and I’ll be using the green yarn for the first version. I think they’ll look quite nice together.

xmasball

4 responses to “crochet!

  1. The ball looks great & I can’t wait tomseenthe green! I think you will really like the next motif – I had a lot of fun with it!

  2. *tomseenthe = to see the (sheesh!)

  3. I had a dream the other night that I went to Youtube and started to learn to crochet… maybe it’s a sign! 😛

Leave a Reply

