Day 7, looking forward

KCBWsquare

The challenge of the final day of Knit and Crochet Blog Week is looking forward.

“One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?”

I mentioned to someone at the start of the year that I like to make sure I learn one new thing, or travel to one new place, every year. Some of those things are so momentous that I can remember them years later: for my 38th year I learned to drive, for my 42nd I learned to swim, for my 50th I learned to knit, for my 51st I went to New York.

xmasball

I remember thinking at the start of this year, my 54th year, that I’d like to add stranded colour work to my knitting repertoire and, through some wonderful  serendipity, I made contact with KnittingSarah who had announced on her blog on New Year’s Day a year long knitalong to make one ball a month from Arne and Carlos’s book 55 Christmas balls to knit. It’s since become a joint global knitalong with Martine from iMake.  I got the book as a present for the previous Christmas but had never managed to perservere but joining the knitalong gave me the support and enthusiasm to knuckle down and develop a wonderful new skill. I can see that I’m getting better every month.

By this time next year I wouldn’t mind taking that skill further, maybe a stranded colour work vest or pullover. I’ve got a few patterns in my library so it’s quite a tempting prospect. The other skill I need to learn is crochet… I think it’s going to be a busy year.

2 responses to “Day 7, looking forward

  1. I love colorwork! By the end of the year you will have a tree’s worth of ornaments and a useful skill. I am sure you can make a sweater or vest with no problem.

  2. You can do it! I think you need and deserve a fair isle vest!

Leave a Reply

