Blue and green should never be seen…

KCBWsquare…is quite a ridiculous saying. They are two of my favourite colours, whether together or on their own.

Today’s challenge for Day 4 of the Knitting and Crochet Blog Week is to think about our favourite colour, then look at how that colour turns up in our yarn choices and our projects.

I’ve always thought of blue as my favourite colour, closely followed by green, although I think because blue was my favourite I somehow thought with my early knitting projects that I had too much blue so I mostly used other colours.

Having said that, my very first knitting project was a striped scarf in sage green and royal blue.

LimaScarf

I was in Lincraft in Melbourne and found some of their home brand Lima alpaca blend yarn on sale and a free pattern leaflet for the scarf so the entire project cost me about $10. I was thinking that it wasn’t such an investment if it all went wrong but I was actually pretty pleased with how it came out.

I remember someone commenting that the green almost acted as a neutral against the vivid blue, and I think they were right. I hadn’t thought of colours acting as neutrals before. I wore the scarf quite a bit until I absent mindedly left it behind on a train one evening — I hope somebody found it, I’d rather think of it keeping someone warm than tossed in the rubbish.

Looking at my Ravelry projects page, it seems that after my blue and green scarf I moved onto mostly using neutrals  for a year or so before drifting back to green, and over the past year I now see that I’ve drifted back again to blue. It might have had something to do with my year-long project through 2012, my Sky Scarf.

skyscarf

The Sky Scarf was a conceptual knitting project created by Lea Redmond where people around the world knitted a scarf  through the year, with each row representing the colour of the sky that day in their part of the world. It really was a lovely meditative process, every lunchtime I would go for a walk and look at the sky, and every evening after work I’d come home and sit quietly, choose the colours for the day  and knit one row and back of my scarf. Each row was knit with two strands of yarn so blending the strands of yarn to match the colour of the sky was almost like painting.

My current knitting project is blue too, although it might have easily been Manatee grey (as the model is wearing in the photo).

bluejumper

Even though I went with blue over grey, I think this tweedy yarn reflects the qualities of Team Manatee — calm, peaceful, deep and full of character. Oh, and it looks like one of my future projects might be representative of Team Manatee too. I have 11 skeins of this beautiful Brooklyn Tweed Shelter in my stash, a souvenir of a trip to New York a couple of years ago. The colour is “Faded Quilt” in subtle shades of pale blue and grey.

shelter

11 responses to “Blue and green should never be seen…

  1. I really like blue too:) Your projects are lovely.

  2. I’ve never heard that saying about blue and green. Clearly, it’s nonsense. They look great together. Somewhere, I have a picture of me as a child wearing a shirt in those exact same colors in the top photo. Love that scarf!

    • “Blue and green should never be seen without a colour in between” — I think it might be an English saying, but at least we agree that it’s nonsense. I also think you have to go and find that photo!

  3. All your blues and greens are lovely! I see them like earth tones, the sky and leaves and grass of the ocean.

  4. I love that scarf concept! I know the temperature scarf is going around this year, but I prefer the sky one you did. Will have to remember that one. All you yarn choices make me feel peaceful. Calm.

    • Thanks! I think I prefer the calmness of the sky scarf too. I also saw someone had made a scarf tracking the colour changes in her maple tree which is another lovely idea.

  5. I know the saying as red and green should never be seen except upon a fool!
    I think blue and green work well – but the I think blue works with everything! 🙂

    • I’ve never heard the red and green saying before! A friend has a red and green striped pullover, but it’s more of an olive green and a subdued red which I think looks great. At least we agree on the blue.

Leave a Reply

