one sleeve done

jumper…also the front and back so I reckon I am 3/4 of the way to done with my jumper so it should be ready for the start of winter.

Things were really going quite well until I got a bit confused by the instructions for the very top of the sleeve which, of course, I didn’t realise until I had actually finished.

The pattern is by Erika Knight who gives brilliant instructions for fully fashioned increases and decreases in her sweater patterns. I don’t think I’ve seen any other knitting patterns that specify the paired increases and decreases to use for both knit and purl rows. It’s just that she didn’t quite explain what to do when you start running out of stitches and you aren’t sure which of the patterns to keep going.

Of course it turned out I made the wrong choice, which was obvious when I came to the last line of the pattern and it suddenly all made sense. There’s a lesson there about reading ahead, and it was also helpful to pay close attention to the pictures which in this case are informative as well as decorative. After pausing for a cup of tea, it didn’t take too long to rip back a dozen rows and make good.

For the first time ever I am using the specified yarn for a pattern and I bought the exact amount of yarn called for but it looks like I’m going to have almost two 100 gram skeins left over at the end. What to do? I think Heidi Klum would frown upon the idea of a matching hat.

Pattern: “Cable tweed sweater” by Erika Knight, from her book Men’s knits: a new direction.  Yarn: Debbie Bliss Luxury Donegal Tweed Chunky, colour “Denim”. 

4 responses to “one sleeve done

  1. A reflective pause always helps. 12 rows isn’t so bad. And how nice to have something finished before winter arrives. I always feel like I’m scrambling to get one wear in before winter is over! This is going to look great.

  2. It’s looking lovely and chunky-warm.

Leave a Reply

