A Christmas ball for Easter

The fifth Christmas ball finished for KnittingSarah’s Merry Knitalong.

xmasball

This is the Greek Cross, number 40 from Arne and Carlos’s 55 Christmas balls to knit, and the first I’ve knit with the design in white against a red background. I really like how this one turned out. The story of how Arne and Carlos came up with the design is quite magical too…

One late night in Athens, when we were looking for something to eat in what appeared to be a doubtful spot, we passed a small church with the door slightly open. We got a little glimpse of a world filled with light, colors, and song, a closed world with the door ajar.

My other knitting time has mostly involved a big project lately, the “Cable Tweed Sweater” from Erika Knight’s Men’s knits, a new direction and I have just this minute finished the back. This is my third project from this book which I guess says something about how much I like the designs. If you’re a man who knits or you’re knitting for a man (or both!) it’s definitely worth checking out.

I’m using Debbie Bliss Luxury Donegal Chunky, actually the recommended yarn although mine is in “Denim”, a tweedy blue with flecks of white, darker blue and black. It’s really lovely, and sadly discontinued, although that’s the reason I was able to pick up a jumper’s worth at almost half price so I shouldn’t complain. It will certainly be toasty warm so I’m hoping I get it finished before winter arrives.

jumper

Leave a Reply

