A snow crystal for January

xmasballjan

I was a day or so late due to a false start but here is the first Christmas ball finished for KittingSarah‘s “More the Merrier” Christmas ball knitalong.

For my first attempt at stranded colour work, I’m quite pleased with how this turned out and I’m sure I’ll get better as I knit through the rest of the year. I actually had more trouble with the crochet chain hanging loop.

The yarn is Millamia Naturally Soft Merino which would probably be classified as a sport weight yarn and usually knits up on 3.25 mm needles. I used 3.0 mm needles for my Christmas ball and it turned out just fine. The yarn is really lovely to work with with no splitting and it certainly lives up to its “naturally soft” name. I would have liked there to be a richer Christmassy red but I had to settle for Scarlet. The white is at least appropriately named Snow.

8 responses to “A snow crystal for January

  1. Looks awesome! The yarn looks like a great fit! Congratulations on handling the stranding so incredibly well!

    • Thanks Sarah! The stranding on the reverse actually looks quite neat although there were a couple of long floats that I probably should have caught, did you? I know how to catch the contrast colour but I’ll have to research how you catch the main colour before I start the next one.

  2. First colour work attempt looking very nice, even and tidy! And the bauble looks so perfectly round. I’m knitting Butterflies are Free right now and it’s going much better then I expected! I think we generally expect colour work to be harder than it really is. I can’t wait see your Christmas tree.

    • Thanks, will be onto the February Christmas ball soon, or maybe even two as Sarah has a bonus one in her knitalong this month!

  3. Pingback: A snowflake for January | Snow and Royce

Leave a Reply

