stwnsh

For day 4 of #blog12daysxmas

wpid-2012-12-27-08.44.36.jpg

I had to go back to my blog post from a year ago to remember how I made my Christmassy chestnut roast which we had this year for Boxing Day Dinner and, even so, I managed to misread my own instructions. Last year I sauteed the onions before mixing in and this year I put in the chopped onions raw, but they worked out fine either way — recipe is here.

This does make a great vegetarian main course for Christmas. For the chestnuts I used two of the packs you find in Asian grocers and, mixed with chopped cashews, walnuts, feta cheese and some leftover sourdough bread it makes a very tasty and satisfying meal.

I had wanted to recreate a side dish from my childhood to go with the nut roast, mashed swede and potatoes that we as kids called “stunch” and which my brothers still joke about, but which I now realise should probably be stwnsh, the Welsh word for “mashed”.

At least I knew more than the chap at the supermarket checkout who tried to scan my swedes as beetroot.

Sadly, being mid Summer here, my swedes were stringy and fibrous so I had to abandon the stwnsh and serve the nut roast instead with roasted potatoes, green beans, onion gravy and, for a Scandinavian touch, some lingonberry jam.

I will try the mashed swede and potatoes when the weather gets cooler and the root vegetables come into their season. I’ve also seen it called stwns rwdins and the notes I’ve found say you should have slightly more swede than potato and mash them together with butter and buttermilk. There is also another dish stwns moron, mashed carrot and swede, which seems more popular so I might give that a try too. You can even buy it pre-cooked at Waitrose which would be handy if you too end up with stringy swedes.

3 responses to “stwnsh

  1. My mum used to make us mashed carrots and parsnip which was quite yummy. It’s amazing what types of food can be purchased pre-cooked in the UK that ex-pats are forced to make from scratch!

    • I will have to try the mashed carrots and parsnips! In the carrot and swede version I guess the sweetness of the carrots balances the sharpness of the swede. I told my mum about this but she still insists the potato/swede version is better!

  2. This reads as being quite delicious. But then so have all your culinary delights. It was noted by those present at Christmas lunch this year that virtually every dish had nuts in it. No nut allergies amongst us…

Leave a Reply

