Gentlemen prefer

I’ve been stalking this vintage men’s knitting book on eBay for a while now and finally scored a bargain copy.

Spinnerin volume180 “Gentlemen prefer” was published by the Spinnerin Yarn Co. in the US in 1967. What a brilliant year for knitwear that must have been!

There are around thirty designs for men’s sweaters, cardigans, jackets and vests.

The patterns are mostly in lighter weight yarns from 4 ply to worsted. Of course the actual yarns are long gone (wouldn’t it be fun to knit a jumper in “Marvel Twist”?) but you could easily find modern substitutes.

It’s sometimes tricky estimating the yardage you’ll need with vintage yarns but I’ve had surprisingly good luck tracking down details of American vintage yarns through Vintage Knits so that’s always worth a go.

Would I actually make any of these patterns? Sure thing! There are more than a couple of stylish cable and aran sweaters and cardigans, and I love this houndstooth check jacket (although I’m not sure my colourwork skills are up to making it just yet).

There are also several classic designs for sweaters and vests. Oh, and a poncho.

9 responses to “Gentlemen prefer

  1. Please knit the man poncho!

    • Looking at it practically, it would keep the cold out while waiting at the tram stop. However I’m not sure that the 112 tram is quite ready for a turquoise man poncho.

  2. Awesome! I have a big box of vintage patterns…I used to snatch them up whenever I saw them cheap. I’ll have to check and see if there’s any men’s patterns 🙂

  3. I agree with Kerryn, ponchos are cool 🙂

  4. These photos and the poses in them are a scream, but I have to agree that some of the patterns look very do-able. And I bet you could manage the houndstooth jacket. Give it a try! Thanks for sharing these photos. They really made my day!

    • I’ve got folders full of these old pattern books, mainly because I like the 60s style and they fit me better than modern men’s patterns, but they certainly are joyful too!

  5. noooooooo! Not the poncho! 😛

Leave a Reply

