my first knitalong

This weekend Kate started her sock knitalong to get some more knitters initiated  into the sock thing. She’s put up some great instructions if you are a starting-out sock knitter, although I am mainly tagging along while I try to reverse engineer the Noro Silk Garden socks I knit last time but for which I have lost my notes.

This is Noro Silk Garden Sock, colour 313. I’ve just done some yellow and I’m looking forward to a splash of red coming up later!

I’ve also been working on my Almanac scarf, actually Stephen West’s Purl Ridge Scarf in Brooklyn Tweed Shelter “Almanac”, a subtly tweedy royal blue. I do love this yarn, but a word of warning. I tried out several scarf designs before finally deciding on the Purl Ridge Scarf design, and I started that on 5.0 mm needles before deciding to go down to 4.5 mm for a tighter stitch, so there was a bit of ripping out before I finally got started. Shelter really doesn’t stand up well to repeated frogging and after you’ve ripped back a couple of times it starts to look and feel quite ragged and loses its loft.

Luckily I had enough yarn to abandon some of the yarn that was looking very much second-hand, but I’d be interested to see if it might bounce back after washing and blocking.

I do like the scarf design though. It’s actually a long cowl or infinity scarf knit in the round. The pattern says to cast on 200 stitches on an 80 cm circular needle but as I’d gone down a needle size and my gauge was a bit tighter I decided to cast on 240 and use a 100 cm needle.

I’ve got one more purl ridge repeat to go then the top garter stitch border and I’m done.

PS: Am I the only the only person who hates knitting on circular needles? Needless to say I’m knitting my socks on old school DPNs.

 

5 responses to “my first knitalong

  1. I hate knitting socks on circs as well – am a dedicated dpn girl. But for everything else I love my interchangeable circs- they make changing needle sizes so easy and the stop caps make putting the project aside to run off and start something shiny a little too easy as well. Circs are all different to knit with as well, I hated all the ones I tried until I found the knit pro interchangeable circs – so don’t give up on them just yet!

  2. Gorgeous colours.

  3. Q – LOL! I’m so totally a circular needle person. Arthritis shoulders and hands, I can actually knit socks, etc now. Hurray for the magic loop.

Leave a Reply

