swatching

for day 11 of blogjune a solution to labelling yarn swatches

If I’m starting a big knitting project like a jumper I do mostly try to do the right thing and knit a swatch before I start. I also now wash and block it because there have been a couple of swatches I’ve done where the gauge was a bit off initially but turned out to be ok after washing. Having the washed and blocked swatch to hand does help to keep those nagging feelings of doom away when you’re worried that jumper you’re knitting might not fit.

A couple of times I’ve knitted swatches with different size needles and forgotten to note what needle size I used, which does rather defeat the purpose of the exercise, so I got these neat labels at Tokuya ($2.80 for a huge pack!)

They have wires attached so you can thread them onto the yarn swatches and write down all the details.

Leave a Reply

