The Woman in Black

A small film review for day 6 of blogjune

On Sunday night, suffering Eurovision withdrawals,  we settled in to watch the 2012 San Remo Song Contest which fired up with  Nina Zilli belting out a classic Italian ballad Per Sempre. We knew Nina would go on to win because she represented Italy in Eurovision (although with a different song) but unfortunately it seemed to be all down hill after Nina and we fast-forwarded through the next few songs before calling it quits and instead put on a DVD of the new Hammer film The Woman in Black.

How wonderful to be able to watch a modern film in the classic Hammer horror style from the sixties and seventies.

Daniel Radcliffe plays a widowed young father sent to creepy Crythin Gifford in the north of England to settle the affairs of a woman who has recently died (in a haunted house  obviously).

Haunted Eel Marsh House is almost a character in itself, wonderfully evocative and set on an isolated island at the end of a long causeway, surrounded by fog, graves, spooky trees and the apparition of a woman in black.

It’s so good to know that the film has been a success with a sequel already in the works, so classic Hammer horror might be making a comeback. I literally got the shivers a couple of times, it is genuinely spooky and thrilling in an old school way. The film looks beautiful, as does Daniel Radcliffe in the starring role, and there is an equally adorable dog…

6 responses to “The Woman in Black

  1. I’m putting it out there that The Woman In Black is the spookiest movie I’ve ever seen. OK, so I scare easily. And maybe I didn’t actually “see” most of the movie cause I was “watching” from behind my hands most of the time. But Gav doesn’t scare easily and even he thought it was terrifying.

  2. I’m such a baby when it comes to horror… but am very tempted by this one. And you’re right, I think Daniel Radcliffe has a lovely face for this kind of period film… and it is great to see him doing well in a non-Harry film ; )

  3. I haven’t seen this movie yet but your review makes me want to see it that much more. All my co-workers at Dish told me I should watch this, not alone of course. I haven’t read the book either but I did end up renting it on Blockbuster @Home. It was even available in Blu-ray and didn’t cost me extra. It will be interesting to see Daniel playing something other then Harry Potter; I just hope the dog doesn’t get hurt!

  4. Sounds intriguing and looks pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

