early winter…

I took my antlers scarf in to show some friends at work on Friday but it turned so cold that I ended up wearing it on the train ride home. It certainly helped keep the cold wind out while waiting on the platform at blustery Glenferrie station. Brrrr!

I read somewhere that a man’s scarf should be as long as you are tall. Mine is a bit longer than that, but I’m not very tall, so it seems to be about right.

I’ve also been working on my green tweed jumper and, as I’d finished the back, I washed and blocked that while I knitted on the front. My goodness, that Felted Tweed grows when it gets wet! I confess to having a moment of panic, but after pinning it all out to the correct size it seems to be gradually shrinking back again as it dries. Wish me luck.

I’ve also come to the realisation that I’ve been doing my purl decreases the wrong way around when you need matching left-leaning and right-leaning decreases, thanks to The Knitting Book by Frederica Patmore and Vicki Haffenden. This uses a right leaning purl decrease, SSP, which was new to me and is certainly a lot easier than the dreaded P2TogTBL “purl 2 together through back loops”. In SSP, you slip the next two stitches as if to knit then pass them back to the left needle purlwise and then purl them together. Easy peasy and hopefully I’ll never need to do P2TogTBL ever again, happy days!

So, here’s the tip for when you need matching left-leaning and right-leaning decreases on knit and purl rows, easy to remember and easy to do…

Knit row:  SSK … K2Tog
Purl row: SSP … P2Tog

Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

