Vintage knitting patterns – the Tony Bonner jumper

Another vintage men’s knitting pattern book, and this time I’m actually knitting one of the patterns!

Villawool Book 141 features eight designs for jumpers, jackets and cardigans. The photos are all shot around Circular Quay and it looks like the Sydney Opera House is almost finished so I’m guessing this is from the very late 60s or early 70s.

One of the models is the actor Tony Bonner who must have been between gigs, but I must say he pulls off some great poses and he also seems to have a fondness for tight trousers and cravats (not that there’s anything wrong with that).

I’m knitting the set-in sleeve jumper in the picture below, designed for Villawool Avanti or Focus, which are of course now a distant memory, but Rowan Felted Tweed DK seems to be a perfect gauge match on 3.75 mm needles.

I’ve got the back almost done, so I’ll need to decide soon whether to make a crew-neck or vee-neck for the front. The colour is Pine, a rich dark green with tiny flecks of black, white, blue and brown.

8 responses to “Vintage knitting patterns – the Tony Bonner jumper

  1. Great haircuts too!
    I like the colourway you’ve picked – is rowan felted tweed quite soft?

  2. Nothing like a classic handknitted jumper.
    Rowan Felted Tweed is a lovely yarn – soft and warm without being too hot for our climate (although you are in Melbourne 😉
    As for Tony Bonner… i remember Skippy…
    (I also think i had a bit of a crush on him as a kid. lol 🙂

  3. I’ve never been terribly knowledgeable of Australian actors, so it was very good of you to notice that one!

    This sweater is going to look amazing! As you know, I’m a green addict and a Rowan fan-boy, so you get two thumbs up from me!

    • Thanks Raynie, I am now a fair way up the front and I’ve decided on a crew neck (but without the cravat). The yarn really is beautiful, and quite fine so it’s taking a while!

  4. Wow! That looks like a huge project! Good for you! I can’t wait to see how it all turns out. That cardigan in the first photo is pretty rad too.. Next project perhaps? =]

    • I can’t even think about another big project just yet! Anyway, tomorrow is a public holiday, so the plan is to join up the seams and then I just have to knit the neckband. I actually prefer knitting in pieces and seaming (don’t tell anyone, but I don’t like circular needles 😉 )

Leave a Reply

