Noro Kureyon Socks

For the Socktober challenge I started on a pair of green socks, and they’re done!

The 6 ply Trekking sock yarn turned out to be pretty speedy to knit with, but then someone dared me to try to knit a second pair. I’ve turned the heel on the new sock so we’ll see if I get the second pair finished by the end of the month.

It’s my first go using Noro sock yarn, this is Kureyon. Took me a while to realise that Kureyon クレヨン is “crayon” in Japanese, I guess because the usual bright colours looks like a box of crayons. My skein is more subdued, mostly greys and browns. The yarn feels a bit papery and I’d assumed it had silk in it like Noro Silk Garden, but Kureyon is a wool/nylon blend. I’m hoping it gets softer after washing.

First sock done!

I also did a bit of swatching with my stash of Brooklyn Tweed Shelter. I should have enough for a jumper out of this lovely blue grey colourway. I couldn’t resist the name, “Faded Quilt“.

2 responses to “Noro Kureyon Socks

  1. Your green socks look very cozy and warm. You’re well on your way for your second pair! Love that Faded Quilt colorway 🙂

  2. That first pair are totes awesome! Love the colors.

    I have found that Kureyon tends to soften up after handling, but it’s still not the softest yarn ever. I still like it though.

Leave a Reply

