My dad’s socks

Last week I finished the back of my vest and the front AND back of my button collar pullover project, so I decided to take a little break for a smaller project.

Stitchonomy prize stash!

At first I thought of starting something with the fab Morris Pure I won in the Stitchonomy competition (yay!)

But then I thought I should really get cracking on the warm woolly socks I want to knit for my dad. He hasn’t been too well lately and he needs to keep warm so I’ve decided to knit Hannah Fettig’s super thick and warm Man Socks from her book Closely knit. I bought the yarn from the Brooklyn General Store in New York, 2 skeins of Peace Fleece worsted wool yarn in a subtly flecked grey colourway, appropriately called “Father’s Gray”.

I’ve got some time off work in a couple of weeks so if I keep the needles clicking I can hopefully get them done in time for a visit then — an early birthday present.

"Man Socks" by Hannah Fettig

2 responses to “My dad’s socks

  1. “worsted weight” seems to be an American description. What would be the Australian equivalent? is it 4 or 5 ply?…great socks

    • my mistake: this is probably classed as aran weight rather than worsted. Peace Fleece is usually knit at 16 stitches to 4 inches, so that would be 12 ply.

Leave a Reply

