Stash plans – Reversible cable scarf

I got to visit the wonderful yarn shop Purl Soho when we went to New York last year.

After browsing all the beautiful yarns – arranged by colour along the long wall – I settled on 3 skeins of Brooklyn Tweed Shelter.

Then, as I was walking back to the subway station, I suddenly got worried in case that mightn’t be enough, so I scooted back to Purl and bought an extra skein just in case. It’s sort of an army green with tiny flecks of yellow that you can only see close up.

I’ve got a Brooklyn Tweed pattern in mind for the Shelter yarn, a reversible cabled  scarf called “Pavement”.

Pattern:
Pavement” by Jared Flood

Yarn:
Brooklyn Tweed Shelter, 100% Targhee-Columbia wool, colour “Tent”

Purchased at:
Purl Soho
459 Broome Street, New York City

8 responses to “Stash plans – Reversible cable scarf

  1. Ooh, nice! I just went and had a look at the pattern, the design is lovely 🙂

    • thanks Sally, I’m currently in the middle of a pullover and a vest so it might be next winter before I get to the scarf! It will be a nice souvenir of New York though!

  2. That looks awfully cozy.

  3. Oooh! Do it! I’m doing a Jared Flood hat pattern at the moment and enjoying a lot so far. I’d love to get my hands on some BT yarn.

    • which hat pattern? do tell!

      • I’m doing the Fenimore tam using Rowan Renew (You inspired me to explore the wonderful world of Rowan 😛 ). It’s a 12 ply, but the pattern is for a 10 ply yarn, but since I’m a tight knitter and have a GINORMOUS head, I decided just to size the yarn and needles up a bit without changing the pattern. I’ll blog about it soon (I’ve been so neglectful!)

      • Very nice! I think that should work out fine. My Rowan Renew project turned out to be a ginormous “gauge incident” and has now been unravelled and wound into balls waiting for a new project. It’s supposed to knit up at 14st on 6mm needles but I ended up getting 16st… crap.

        (I’m in the Twitter librarians blog every day in June challenge so lots of blog posts from me at the moment… I’ll be quieter in July… )

  4. Pingback: Stash plans – another reversible cable scarf | Bonito Club

Leave a Reply

