Turn a Square

After the yellow vest project bit the dust I thought I needed a quick result to get going again, so I got out the pattern and yarn for Jared Flood’s Turn-a-Square hat. I’m not sure who it’s for yet, but not me, hats and I don’t seem to go together.

This my first go at knitting in the round on circular needles, and it was also an extended swatch for the Noro Silk Garden I bought on sale before Christmas. Noro seems to polarise knitters into lovers and haters. You can pencil me down in the love column. After reading comments on Ravelry I thought it might be stiff and hard to work with too, but it turned out to be quite soft in a papery sort of way… I guess that’s the silk.

The Silk Garden I used, colour 47, was mostly earthy colours with some blues and purples and it worked out nicely with the Morris Woollahra “Cocoa Bean”. I’d thought the Woollahra was plain brown but it had occasional very tiny flecks of magenta and dark green.

I started out following the designer’s tip for jogless circular stripes, but it didn’t seem to be working out, so I hunted around and found a great technique for slipped stitch jogless stripes at TechKnitter’s blog. I’m hoping the seams might be a bit smoother after I wash and block it…

6 responses to “Turn a Square

  1. You’re so prolific! It looks great. 🙂

    I love Noro too, but I think entire pieces in Noro can be a bit overwhelming. I like when it’s used with another plainer yarn like this. There’s a really neat cardigan in Son of Stitch & Bitch that uses a band of Noro across the chest and arms against a nice brown for the rest of it.

    • Yes I know the one you mean! And there’s also a jumper knit with Noro held double with a plain yarn so you get a more subtle heather colour change effect. Agree the Noro yarn could be a bit overwhelming on its own.

      Have you ever crocheted a jumper? I saw the Crochet Dude’s book in a shop, but I can’t crochet… yet, anyway!

      • Yeah! I do have his book. It’s a little hit or miss, but when it hits, it’s awesome. I haven’t made a sweater yet, but it’s on my list; there’s a hoodie in there that I’d like to make.

        I keep the book at work, so if you pop in when I’m there, I’ll bring it out for you to look through. Maybe having a project that you really want to do will be the catalyst to learn to crochet. ^_^

  2. The hat looks fantastic Tony! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Socks to wear while watching TV in winter | Bonito Club

Leave a Reply

