Colonel Mustard vest

Last year I asked Wayne if he’d like me to knit him something for his birthday and he decided on a yellow vest. Unfortunately it didn’t quite work out… newbie knitter and a bad choice of yarn combined to thwart that idea. A year later and I’ve started over on a yellow vest, but the birthday is less than two weeks away! Not sure I’ll get it finished in time but I’m hoping to at least be able to present the back.

Yellow is a tricky colour. It seems like yellow yarn is usually either baby pastel or lairy acrylic, but I happened upon a lovely soft mustard colour in Sublime Extra Fine Merino, appropriately called Colonel Mustard. Cute name.

Postscript: Uh oh, the yellow vest didn’t work out. See comments…

5 responses to “Colonel Mustard vest

  1. Well, it looks like you’re flying along compared to if I were making it. Can’t wait to see it finished! ^_^

    • Thanks, I’ve just finished the back!

    • hmmm… after finishing the back and doing some measuring we both decided it was looking a bit, well, dumpy. So for the second year running, the yellow vest bites the dust. I wasn’t loving the yarn I must say… very soft with good stitch definition, but it felt and looked too commercial and had no character at all. I think it might be going to the op shop.

      • Awww, that’s a shame, but you’ve gotta go with your gut. If you’re not feeling it, you’re not feeling it. I have a whole box of projects that I got halfway into it and then bailed. And there they shall stay. 😛

  2. Pingback: Turn a Square « Bonito Club

Leave a Reply

