Eggplant lentil ragout

with mashed potato!

Zaana asked on Twitter for some vegetarian slow cooker recipes, so I thought I’d share this one. It’s the first thing I cooked, both in the slow cooker and from Judith Finlayson’s fab cook book,  The Vegetarian slow cooker.

Cut a medium eggplant in cubes and brown in a frypan with some olive oil, then set aside.

Next, saute some finely chopped onions for 3 minutes, adding some more olive oil if you need to.

Then add 4 cloves minced garlic, 1 tbspn ground cumin (I used cumin seeds), grated zest of a lemon, salt and cracked pepper. After another minute or so, add a cup of dry brown lentils and toss in the flavoured oil.

Transfer everything to the slow cooker and add 3 cups of vegetable stock. Cook on high for about 3 hours, or 6 hours on low. Add 1 tbspn of lemon juice and half a cup of chopped dill before serving (I didn’t have dill so used parsley).

Easy peasy and delicious!

3 responses to “Eggplant lentil ragout

  1. strawberriesofintegrity

    so just a cup of brown lentils- or a tin?
    what is the consistency of it….
    thanks Tony
    I must make it. I have to say when you sent me the recipe the dill part put me off it (I just not that mad about dill?), but will try with parsley…
    K

    • Kate, I should have said *dry* brown lentils. They cook pretty quickly. Tinned ones might go a bit mushy I guess?

      The eggplant kind of disintegrated into the liquid when I made it so it was quite thick. I served it over grilled polenta, yum.

  2. strawberriesofintegrity

    no- that’s good- thanks. I tend to chuck a handful of red lentils into slow cooked things- thickens them up nicely, but will use dried brown for this. Yum!

Leave a Reply

