Knitting (another) vest

Since I was home sick for a few days this week I’ve made some progress on the vest I started knitting last weekend.

My colleagues in the Swinburne library stitch’n’bitch will know that I have started a couple of vests but haven’t actually finished one yet. I like to tell myself that I’m a recovering perfectionist.  This is the third time I’ve started this project but I am now determined to keep going and actually finish.  It’s going quite well so, to paraphrase  Mary Tyler Moore, I think I’m going to make it after all.

I’ve done about two thirds of the back and I’m up to the armhole decreases. This one was a little tricky for me, the first time I’ve needed to do decreases on a wrong side row. “Purl 2 together through back loops”, the only left leaning purl decrease I could find in my books, was like knitting gymnastics. Thankfully it was only needed on one row.

This is a pattern for a cable vest. The cables are only on the front so I’m just doing the simple stocking stitch back at the moment. When I get to the cables I’ll report back.

The yarn is Rowan Felted Tweed that I bought from England at a bargain price on eBay, 6 skeins in a tweedy green called “Avocado”. It’s lovely and soft.

12 responses to “Knitting (another) vest

  1. It’s a beautiful colour! 🙂

    It all sounds very adventurous to me! My knitting efforts never got beyond scarves, and I’m still daunted by the thought of shaping a garment. People tell me cables are easier than they look – I hope so, because I love the look of cable knitting!

    Good luck, and I hope you’re on the mend now. 🙂

    • There’s a Ravelry group just for you, “Moving beyond rectangles”!

      I’m hoping cables are easier than they look too, never done them before. Watch for the next exciting installment 🙂

  2. ha I can totally agree with Sally regarding scarves! Love the colour anyway and please show us the end product ^.^

  3. it looks a lovely soft fibre. There are some lovely fibres out there.

  4. apubliclibrarian

    I adore that colour -gorgeous – please blog your progress

  5. arm hole decreases finished yesterday, so it’s now straight up to the neck!

  6. Who is this for, you or Wayne? (does it help if you’re making it for someone?)

  7. strawberriesofintegrity

    what beautiful wool and colour. yes we ALL want to see a pic at the end with you proudly wearing your vest! Hope you are feeling better too.

  8. Con, with a bit of luck it will fit both of us!

    ok, I will promise a photo when it’s done. Should get the back finished this week, then when I get to the front it’s my first go at cables ^.^

  9. Pingback: Inspire the weary troops! | Libraries Interact

  10. I’m very impressed and I particularly like the citrus colour – it is a very NOW shade.

  11. Pingback: Vest in progress « Bonito Club

Leave a comment