Day 17 – the reading meme

Day 17 #blogeverydayofjune, thanks to Kim for inspiration.

Do you snack while reading?
Yes, usually toast or rice cakes.

What is your favourite drink while reading?
Tea or coffee.

Do you tend to mark your books while you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?
It horrifies me! I would write notes in a separate notebook or on a piece of paper.

How do you keep your place? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book open flat?
Laying the book out flat!!?? Never! I’ve been collecting the Readings bookmarks and try to use them. Otherwise anything handy, usually old train tickets. Decades ago I lost at least 3 bank books by using them as bookmarks in library books.

Fiction, non-fiction or both?
Mostly non-fiction, but I am very partial to classic whodunnits.

Do you tend to read to the end of a chapter or can you stop anywhere?
I am a bit obsessive/compulsive so try to finish at the end of a chapter if I can. If I have to finish mid way, I turn the bookmark to face the page I was on.

Are you the type of person to throw a book across the room or on the floor if the author irritates you?
I don’t think I’ve ever inflicted violence on a book.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop and look it up right away?
Yes, I have to look it up immediately and I sometimes write it in a notebook for further checking later.

What are you currently reading?

An English murder by Cyril Hare
A book about the John Soane Museum by Tim Knox
Tender by Nigel Slater
The Free-range knitter by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

What is the last book you bought?
Simple knitting by Erika Knight

Do you have a favourite time/place to read?
The back step on a sunny day.

Do you prefer series books or stand-alones?
Stand-alones, but sometimes I’ll read some by the same author all in a row.

Is there a specific book or author you find yourself recommending over and over?
No, I mostly get recommendations from other people.

How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?

By genre, but then it gets less organized… probably then by size although I try to keep the ones by the same author together. There is a shelf of craft books near the computer and I have a shelf of Japanese language books in the new red book cases in the study. The classic whodunnits are in the hall closet waiting for a home.

Barbara’s additional question: background noise or silence?

A bit of background noise is nice, but nothing too raucous!

One response to “Day 17 – the reading meme

  1. Did you enjoy ‘An English Murder”? Have you read Charles Todd? His (actually a writing duo) books are set in 1919 and feature a Scotland yard detective recently returned from the front and suffering from shell shock. I think the earlier books are particularly good. I have some that I can lend you if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

