#blogeverydayofjune Travel meme

For #blogeverydayofjune, the Travel Meme with thanks to @snailx

You are here

What “City, Country” do you live in?

Melbourne

What was the last country you visited other than your own (or that you want to if you haven’t been out of your country)?

Japan

What is your favourite kind of trip (i.e. camping, laying on the beach, cruise, etc.)?

Visiting cities. I love cities.

What is the farthest location south that you have gone?

Hobart

What is the farthest location north that you have gone?

Llandudno in North Wales

What is your preferred mode of transportation when traveling long distances?

By classic ocean liner, but only if we could time travel back to 1966. Otherwise by train. I love big train stations in big cities. A train departure is an event in itself.

What kind of vehicle do you own (or would like to own)?

I own a blue Mazda. I’d like a mint green Ford Cortina.

What is your ideal destination?

Any big city… London, New York, Paris, Tokyo, Barcelona… or a sophisticated small city like Edinburgh or Kyoto.

Who is your favourite travel companion?

My partner, Wayne

What is the largest city you have visited?

Tokyo

What destination would you recommend to a friend?

Kyoto. When you step out of the station it looks like any other ugly Japanese city, but Kyoto is all about small details.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

I’d live for a couple of months in Japan and practice my Japanese, but for the rest of the year Melbourne would be home. Melbourne is a great place to live.

Ruth’s bonus question – what is the highest altitude you’ve been?

I think it would be The Peak in Hong Kong.


5 responses to “#blogeverydayofjune Travel meme

  1. Hmmm, after reading your answers, I think I agree that train is my preferred travel mode. I only said jet aircraft because trains in Oz are soooooo s l o w. I always enjoy them in the UK & Europe where they are so much better and more efficient.
    So is Wales further north than Japan?

  2. Yep, I did my research! furthest north I’ve been in Japan is Sendai at 38° and Llandudno is 53°.

    Try the Nozomi shinkansen in Japan, brilliant. One day I’m going to save up and go first class, they even have hostesses. The most amazing thing is the Japanese never travel with luggage, they always send it ahead. You feel a bit ridiculous getting on Japanese trains with a suitcase.

  3. It’s Sophie’s bonus question : – )

    I love Wales. We’ve really only done Cardiff, Prestyne and some smaller villages though. Got to listen to a Welsh Male Voice Choir rehearsing though and that was lovely.

    • I was born on the North Wales coast, Colwyn Bay, near Llandudno. Wayne is desperate to go to Portmeirion where they filmed The Prisoner. I’d quite like to go on a Dr Who tour of Cardiff!

  4. OOh – a Dr.Who tour of Cardiff. That’s now on my list of favourite holidays right up there with walking from English pub to English pub. Must tell @carolgauld She wants to go to Britain and she’s a Dr.Who fan also!

Leave a Reply

