Vintage knitting patterns

This is my first post in the 30 posts in 30 days challenge. You can see all the posts on Twitter under #blogeverydayofjune.

My friend Robin and I went off to the Yarn and Craft market at Brunswick Town Hall on Saturday where we each scored a couple of vintage knitting patterns for 20 cents each. They probably cost more than that back in the 60s when they were new!

For the past couple of months I’ve been buying vintage men’s knitting patterns from op shops and on eBay, and Wayne brought me back a bundle from his trip to Shepparton.

As well as being great fun,  the designs are often pretty stylish, plus I can find some patterns that would actually fit me.  A lot of modern men’s knitting patterns seem to start at a fairly large size and go up… if I’m going to spend weeks or months knitting a vest or a jumper I’d want it to at least vaguely fit. I also think I’m a fair way off being skilled and confident enough to attempt to resize a pattern. Luckily patterns from the 60s and 70s begin at more modest sizes.

Usually I look out for pattern books featuring only men’s designs, but I was tempted by this amazing mod Mary Maxim book from Canada featuring designs for men and women.

If you’re looking to knit a pair of ski pants and you need a pattern, let me know.

4 responses to “Vintage knitting patterns

  1. Wonderful geometric designs I have picked up some great vintage crochet ones recently

  2. strawberriesofintegrity

    Wonderful cover…thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Pingback: 30 posts in 30 days – Day 2 Highlights | Libraries Interact

Leave a Reply

