Finishing line! Mustard jumper and Garden vest

For #blogjune – Some knitting projects finished

I’ve finally finished two projects that have been hanging around for a while. The seemingly endless mustard jumper, that I seem to have knitted three times, was finished last weekend. My head fits through the neck! Even better,  the rest of it fits me too. Yay!!

Although I only decided to rip out the crew neck and reknit it with a v-neck to deal with the practical problem of my head not fitting, I’m now really glad with how things turned out. The v-neck is pretty handsome, will just now need to find some shirts to go with it.

(There will be photos but I  soaked and blocked it and, what with chunky yarn and cold damp weather, it’s still not dry.)

wpid-wp-1403166783028.jpegLast night I finished a vest and I’m really pleased with how this came out too, so much so that I wore it to work today without even washing or blocking it at all.

This is the Harrison vest by Martin Storey from Rowan Dalesmen. The pattern is for Rowan Alpaca Cotton but I knit mine from a little over six skeins of Rowan Felted Tweed Aran in grey-green colourway”Garden”.

This is the first men’s vest pattern I’ve knitted that includes waist shaping. In the smallest size you cast on 73 stitches and then gradually increase to 81 stitches giving you a 40 inch/100 cm finished chest size at 16 stitches to 10 cm. It fits me perfectly – although I may need to do just a little waist shaping myself.

The aran weight vest is actually a great layering item for cold days like today with a warm coat, and I even got to wear a scarf on the train ride home tonight.

4 responses to “Finishing line! Mustard jumper and Garden vest

  1. Congrats. It’s great to finally finish a project.

  2. I hear you on the waist shaping! I love Rowan Felted Tweed — and it looks quite nice on you. Can’t wait to see more pictures.

  3. Yay!
    I wish I can knit.

Leave a Reply

