The last Christmas ball

xmasball

For the last Christmas ball in the Merry knitalong I chose number 4 “New Snow” and here it is finished. It’s a lovely design and I quite like how it turned out in green and white and I confess I also chose it for the name… although this is officially the end of the Merry knitalong there will be new beginnings with a Crochet along in the New Year hosted by Martine.

It’s been a wonderful experience to be involved and I’ve met some great people, Sarah at Knittingsarah who had the idea and Martine at Imake who has co-hosted the knitalong through the year. I’ve been listening to Martine’s podcast for years so it was great to be able to get to know her better, and I also have to give a special shout out to Pam at Gingerbreadsnowflakes who has been such an enthusiastic knitalonger. And, not only has it been great fun, I’ve learned stranded knitting which was one of the skills I wanted to add to my repertoire for 2013. Sarah gifted me the lovely Snawheid stranded knitting hat pattern and I’ve got some Jamieson & Smith yarn ready to go so I need to get cracking on that. I have a vague resolution to knit a stranded knitting sweater in 2014… ish. We’ll see how I go.

xmastreeWayne has been away in Sydney these past few days and we’ve planned to set up the Christmas trees (yes, plural) when he gets back but I couldn’t resist setting up the small vintage silver tree with the Merry knitalong Christmas balls.

It certainly looks very festive!

5 responses to “The last Christmas ball

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Hi Tony – it’s been so nice hanging out with you and the MerryKAL crew! I am so pleased that you want to get involved with the CAL. I wonder if this is going to become something we feel compelled to do every year now…. ;-) Hooray for the Merry KAL and also your lovely knitting.

    Merry Christmas

    Martine

  3. Oh, tree looks so fantastic!!! And you made them all… Super cool! Xx

  4. Looks great! Hope it’s not too early to wish you a lovely Christmas!

  5. So beautiful seeing them all together. You’ve certainly got stranded knitting down pat! It’s kind of addictive, no?

Leave a Reply

